Home > Scientology philosophy, Thoughts > Don’t trust Source

Don’t trust Source

There were 80 hopefuls in the course room. Every chair was occupied by a tensely interested Scientologist looking at the OT VIII who was about to open his mouth. It was Moscow, 2008. And the subject of the four hour seminar was “Admin Scale”.

I started: “If I say something true today, why would it be true?”

Two quick answers were offered:

  • Because you are an OT VIII!
  • Because what you say comes from L. Ron Hubbard!

Knowing Russian track of blind obedience to authority, I was not that surprised. It was nevertheless sad.

I promptly invalidated the answers and took the quick and scenic route via the topic Personal Integrity. I tried my best to hammer it in that you should not accept something as true unless you yourself can see that it is true. It does not matter who says it. The [b]content of the communication[/b] is true or not regardless of the source of the communication. Accepting something as true or false based on who says it is mental laziness. It is suspension of own judgment. It hurts your personal integrity and makes you that much smaller.

I hope I reached at least some in the audience.

This mental laziness of trusting the source of the communication and then accepting whatever emanates from that source is rampant in society. I see this everywhere.

I see it in the blind obedience in the Church of Scientology. I see it when a scientologist blindly accept of anything Ron says. I see it in the Scientology critics community when a critic take anything coming from a “critic of stature” as gospel.

It seems hard for some to challenge the illogic in a statement from a friend or from a “trusted source”.

A variation of this is to trust a communication that is similar to your own views even if it also contains untruth. In the critics community this is manifested by accepting any negative statement about Scientology regardless of its illogic. In the Church of Scientology this is manifested by accepting that something is true, positive or helpful simply because a similar topic or technique has proven beneficial. Again, mental laziness.

I applaud the imperfection of Wikipedia. It teaches our children to never trust the source but to exercise their own judgment.

Don’t trust Source. Trust yourself.

Out of the 80 people present, I got 79 though doing their Admin Scale – defining a set of concepts for their life, like their Goals and Purposes, their plans, their envisioned Ideal Scene and more. Without any nudging in any direction, they chose the path that was right for themselves, in accordance to their own life and living. The staff of Moscow Org were somewhat less happy that I didn’t nudge them in the direction they wanted: selling the Basic Books.

  1. 2010-06-14 at 10:53

    This is very true. It was the trust in myself that got me through relatively undamaged through the 12 years I spent in Sea Org from 1971 to 1983, part of which was on Apollo. The environment, as usual, was very chaotic. But it was sticking to Scientology basics AS I UNDERSTOOD THEM that got me through.

  2. Martin Foster
    2010-06-14 at 12:14

    I like your article Geir.
    Nietzsche encapsulated it in saying said “The individual has always had to struggle to keep from being overwhelmed by the tribe.If you try it, you will be lonely often, and sometimes frightened. But no price is too high to pay for the privilege of owning yourself.”
    Why do you suppose Scientologists who are grounded in Self determinism become so trusting? I have a few theories – but would like to hear yours.
    Martin

    • 2010-06-14 at 12:20

      One theory is that one experiences great wins. Wins and gains generate hope of freedom. Hope generates expectations. Expectations generates prejudices in favor of accepting the next thing less inspected.

  3. Theo Sismanides
    2010-06-14 at 13:26

    Geir, you are an upcoming power for Europe. I trust myself and people who can do something about it. Keep it up. In Greece we can be about 10-20 people or even more that I can organize and we can do something about it.

    Great article by the way! Admin needs to be reinforced in the Independents/Freezone.

  4. Songbird
    2010-06-14 at 15:56

    Thinking for yourself and going against the madding crowd must be taught at a very early age. Often this is the subject of dinner conversation at my house. For instance, slavery was a commonplace institution for centuries. Most people never gave slaves and their miserable fate a second thought. It was the economic cornerstone of the New World. How can we live without slavery?

    Several years ago, one of my middle school sons was riding his crowded school bus on a hot humid North Carolina summer afternoon when an asthmatic school mate wheezing and gasping for air. The cruel bus driver had ordered all the windows shut (no air conditioning). My brave young teen promptly hopped up and down the aisle, thrusting all the windows wide open. His classmates watched in stunned horror as the bus driver screeched at my son, telling him to sit down, threatening to permanently eject him from the bus for disobeying her. Ignoring her, my son continued throwing every window open as the asthmatic child sucked in the fresh air, saving his life. After the incident was reported, the bus driver was fired. What concerns me here, though, is that my son was the ONLY child on the entire school bus who, though he was scared, DID THE RIGHT THING despite every reason not to. Most parents teach their kids to OBEY authority. I tell my kids to QUESTION authority then obey or disobey depending on the situation.

    • 2010-06-14 at 16:02

      Yes. Question authority!

      • Overdriver
        2010-06-14 at 21:45

        Only, it is not irrelevant, who is the one who questions authority 😉
        For example what would be the result if the other children who obeyed the bus driver would be thought to question authority? I mean Maybe their solution would not be to open the windows… 😀 but something totally different which would not have good result. People came from different background, intelligence, etc… I think a balance is advised to keep and there always be “casualties” unless the whole population of Earth is not up to a certain spiritual level.
        Great article! 🙂

  5. Deb Lee
    2010-06-14 at 20:29

    I like your article. And I wanted to say most people dont have any data of comparible magnitude, (from st hat materials) to get it, and think for themselves.

  6. sherrymk
    2010-06-15 at 04:53

    Excellent Geir. I applaud you.

  7. 2010-06-15 at 11:22

    Lovely article, Geir. I must confess I almost fell for that kind of thinking in a certain period. But I’ve definitely cured of that for the most part.

  8. Beth Guest
    2010-06-26 at 06:24

    I think you were too hard on your audience, Geir.
    I was first attracted to Scientology because I read in the window of Londond Org – around the mid seventies – “Do not compromise your own reality” which is part of the Code of Honour. Had a really big cog there, and yes, it stood me in good stead through the Scientology years.
    I agree with you essentially, Geir, but, in a practical day to day basis I think we have to trust the word of others to a certain extent. If we question everything that comes our way it would be too time consuming.
    I guess the solution is to keep a monitoring brief on how things are going, watching indicators and the like. When something looks or feels wrong, then I start to look around and check.
    It is of course necessary to surround oneself with people who are basically good …

  9. Tommy
    2010-07-02 at 14:32

    Some random thoughts:)
    When you are a child,every thing your parents tell you is truth.This also goes in to issue of trust,you want to trust your fellow man.I myself have done this when i shouldn’t.We have the MU phenomena with the sours of the comm having a MU.And last the concept of REALITY it self.OT might bee a 3D activity? If Scientology was thought in schools maybe the reality itself would change..
    Tommy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment