Group think

2009-08-20

The group think of the Church of Scientology in Oslo has cemented to a few points regarding me leaving the church.

They agree that I should have handled the wrongdoings I have written about from within the church. They also agree that I should not have gone public with my conclusions. Finally they seem to take my departure personally – they are personally hurt by this.

It makes it easier to answer these points here than to answer each individual who has agreed with the group on this. I will do a Q and A here (excuse my inside pun):

  1. Q: Why didn’t you try to handle this from inside the church?
    A: It is impossible to handle the issues I see from within the church when the suppression comes from the very top. A concerned Scientologist comes to the same conclusion.
  2. Q: Why did you go public with your conclusion?
    A: Partly because the Doubt formula dictates: Join or remain in or befriend the one which progresses toward the greatest good for the greatest number of dynamics and announce the fact publicly to both sides.” And also because this is the most effective way forward when my purpose is to show the public at large that Scientology is not equal to the Church of Scientology.
  3. Q: Why are you doing this to us – can’t you see that so many of us are well-intentioned people working hard for the greater good?
    A: I highly commend the large majority of great people working very hard to help others with Scientology. I could compare my move out of the CoS with a person deciding to move from North Korea. He would recognize that the country is populated well north of 99% with excellent people – but the regime is suppressive, making the country an oppressive place to live.
